With RushFiles, you can now lock your files to prevent changes while you are working on the file.


File locking will lock the file on a user level, meaning the user locking the file (UserA) is the only user that is able to unlock it again.


When a locked file is opened by a different user (UserB), they will still be able to read the file, but cannot edit and upload a new version before UserA unlocks the file.

UserB will be forced to “Save As”, and a new document will be uploaded.


Where can I lock and unlock?


You can lock and unlock files from the web-client, PC, Mac and mobile devices.


Web client: Right click the file you want to lock and in the menu click “Lock File”.

Do the same procedure to unlock the file.


PC and Mac: Right click the file you want to lock, hover over the "RushFiles" option, then choose "Lock file".

Do the same procedure to unlock the file.


You can only lock / unlock files that are on your RushFiles drive.


See how to find your RushFiles drive in our article about the desktop app.


Mobile devices: Lock the file by pressing the little “settings” icon to the right of the filename.

Do the same procedure to unlock the file.


As administrator you will always be able to unlock a locked file.