The Account page is used to control company-wide settings and monitor data usage. Whenever you make changes on this page, you need to apply them by pressing the Save Settings button towards the top-right corner.
- Password Constraints
- User Lockout
- Two-factor Authentication
- Encryption Key
- Device Management
- Public Link
- IP Whitelisting
- Office Online Integration
✔ Allow users to create shares: If set to enabled, Internal users can create shares. External users can never create new shares, while Admin users are always allowed.
✔ Create a share when a user is created: If set to enabled, a default "private" share will be created for every new user, who will automatically be the owner of this share.
✔ Default share name: This is the naming template for the default share that is created if the previous option is enabled. See the examples and presets below this option to learn how to use placeholder values.
By default, a user's password for RushFiles has to include at least 8 characters with at least 1 uppercase and 1 lowercase character. At least 4 characters have to be unique in the password.
In case you would like to define custom password constraints for your users, you can do it here. First, you need to enable "Override the default password constraints" before you can edit it.
The constraints apply to users that are primary on your account. The constraints become effective after clicking Save on this page. Current users will need to create a password matching your requirements they reset their password; for new users, it will be applied at account activation (the first time they set their password).
By default, a RushFiles user is locked out of their user account after 5 failed login attempts, in which case they will not be able to attempt logging in for 5 minutes.
You can define a custom lockout period for users that are primary on your account. You have to enable the "Override default lockout settings" toggle before you can customize the values. Don't forget to click Save on this page to save your changes. The custom lockout settings take effect immediately after clicking Save.
In this tab, you can manage two-factor authentication settings for your account. To learn more about 2FA and company administration, click here.
✔ Enable two-factor authentication enables the use of 2FA for users that are primary on your account. If you cannot enable it, it means that your reseller has not activated 2FA for their reseller account yet. Get in contact with them to change it.
✔ Enforce two-factor authentication on this account makes it mandatory to use 2FA to this account, for users that are primary on this account. If a user has not set up 2FA yet, they will be forced to do so at their next login.
With RushFiles, all your uploaded data is automatically encryption using AES 256-bit encryption, using a generated private key. This means that your data is protected by default.
If you want your data to be encrypted using your own encryption key, fill out the fields with the necessary information (i.e., Enter the old key, Enter the new key, Repeat the new key) and click the Save button.
Make sure that you save a copy of it since we cannot assist with lost encryption keys. If it is the first time you set this, leave the Old key field blank. For all subsequent changes, you will need to provide the Old key as well. There are no requirements regarding the format or length of the key.
We do not recommend changing this setting. If you change the encryption key, it is your responsibility to save it. We cannot help you if you lose or forget your key.
It contains a Device Approvers list where a Company Admin can select one or more Admins from the Company to be Device Approvers.
Selected Device Approvers will receive Device approval request emails. These emails are sent when a user attempts to log in from a new device. If no Device Approver is selected, then the feature is considered disabled, and new devices will be approved automatically. At least one Device Approver must be selected in order for new devices to go through the approval flow. Company Admins can update (add/remove users) the list at any time.
This section controls the default and maximum Expiry date values for public links.
✔ Expires in
✔ Set as maximum time
Public Link Advanced Settings contain the following settings:
✔ Download restriction
✔ Email validation
✔ Link type
IP whitelisting is part of a bundle feature (Advanced Features) which is a type of security measure that is used to restrict unauthorized access to the platform. This is done by whitelisting IP addresses where connections are allowed from.
The feature works by adding rules that allow connection from specified IP address ranges. In order to add specific IP address to the list, pass it as both the Start and End IP in a rule.
Make sure that your current IP address is added to the list before saving your changes, otherwise you will be logged out. In case you locked yourself out of the account using the IP whitelisting feature, contact your RushFiles reseller to regain access.
Read more about this feature here.
You can control how many versions of a file will be saved, and for how long older versions of a file will be saved.
This setting is constrained by your reseller's history settings. This means that your company can never set a value that is lower (less versions/days) than your reseller's.
✔ Max days is set to 30. Max versions is set to 30.
✔ I save a file on RushFiles - this is version 1 and the current version.
✔ If I don't modify this file, then it will never be deleted.
✔ Now, I edit the file, which becomes version 2, while version 1 is moved to the file's history.
✔ Version 1 will be deleted if 30 days pass OR I edit and save the file 30 more times - whichever happens first.
Important Note! Please note that the full file is saved as the history version. If you update a 5 MB file, the version you saved over will continue using 5 MB storage as history space.
Office Online Integration
When turned on, you can edit Microsoft Office documents are opened through our Office Online integration, meaning that you can edit them in your browser.. Read more about the Office Online integration here.
When turned off, you can only preview these in the web client, and you must work with these files in the desktop client.
You can change the default language of your company account. Emails that your company sends through RushFiles will use templates prepared in this language. A different language can be selected using the dropdown menu.
Under the capacity tab, you can see an overview of the amount of data and users your company is using, and how close you are to hitting your limit.
✔ The very first line shows your overall data usage/capacity.
✔ Storage used on files shows how much data capacity is used on current files.
✔ Storage used on deleted files shows how much data capacity is used on deleted files.
✔ Storage used on history files shows how much data capacity is used on previous versions files.
✔ Users tells you how many users you have out of the maximum allowed for you.
If you have further questions or clarifications, feel free to contact us by submitting a ticket through RushFiles HelpDesk Support.